Home > eBooks, iOS Apps, Parenting > Claimchowder: Apple iPad vs Kindle DX: Which is Better for Education? | PCWorld

Claimchowder: Apple iPad vs Kindle DX: Which is Better for Education? | PCWorld

February 7, 2012

Apple iPad vs Kindle DX: Which is Better for Education? | PCWorld.

I was looking at Kindle vs iPad/iBooks 2 for textbooks and ran across this gem from two (was it only 2!) years ago:

Yes, I realize it’s far too early to write the iPad’s eulogy in the consumer market, and I have no intention of doing so. The device hasn’t even shipped yet and, besides, numerous bloggers have already pointed out the iPad’s shortcomings. Still, the iPad does appear to be hard sell to consumers who already own a smartphone and a laptop, and its appeal as a household entertainment machine seems limited.

Mkay.

My household can’t live without the iPad these days and ironically the only thing it can’t do is run the Flash based math drill site my school uses.  Thank goodness for the TouchPad I bought for Flash.

I’m looking forward to learning with my kids.  I grew up as part of the first generation with video games.  They’re growing up as the first generation with truly mobile computing and the fulfillment of the e-Learning potential that my dad, as an educational technologist, glimpsed at in the 60s with the first computers entering K-12 schools.  Somewhere there’s a picture of me with a digital light pen and an IBM terminal catching electronic butterflies in 1968.

It should be fun.

Categories: eBooks, iOS Apps, Parenting
