Home > Smartphones > parislemon • Why I Hate Android

parislemon • Why I Hate Android

January 10, 2012

parislemon • Why I Hate Android.

I my dislike for Android is not as visceral as MG Siegler but his posting shows that betrayed love is sometimes part of the hatred equation.  One thing I DO agree with…arguments that Android is “open” is meaningless to me given the power that Google gave back to the carriers.  Every aspect of “open” in android has pretty much been perverted by the carriers save for a full on fork like Amazon.

MG’s bitterness is understandable.  Google’s shift on net neutrality and jumping into bed with Verizon was a clear betrayal of the “do no evil” ideal.

“I think about these things everyday that I see positive news about Android. It’s so wonderful that the platform which helped cripple Net Neutrality and is keeping the evil carriers in control is taking off. Make no mistake: Android is now the carriers’ best friend…

All of this backstory knowledge fuels my rage. When I see Google talk about how “open” the platform is, setting it up as the foil to the “closed” (and framed as “evil”) iPhone, I want to scream and rip someone’s head off. It’s not only the most extreme example of being disingenuous that I can ever recall seeing — it’s nuclear bullshit.

Apple, for all the shit they get for being “closed” and “evil”, has actually done far more to wrestle control back from the carriers and put it into the hands of consumers. Google set off to help in this goal, then stabbed us all in the back and went the complete other way, to the side of the carriers. And because they smiled the entire time they were doing it and fed us this “open” bullshit, we thanked them for it. We’re still thanking them for it!”

I like a lot of the folks at Google.  Google itself?  Not so much.  I’d much rather deal with Oracle frankly.  Sharks are dangerous but their nature is obvious.

Categories: Smartphones
